New Shoes

Hello Blue Beauties.

First of all, I can’t believe I’m not running in Brooks. I’ve gone through 3 pairs of Adrenaline GTS shoes but have been having some issues with my most recent pair. My purple beauties (I seriously love the look of these shoes) had about 400 miles on them, and I could just feel that it was time to move on to the next thing. The bottoms of my feet start aching on short runs, which is usually an indication for me that it’s time for a new pair.

I went to the Road Runner store to see if I could get re-fitted for a shoe. The Adrenalines served me well, but it seemed like I was having more trouble with the 3rd pair than with the first two. I experienced plantar facitis in the purple wonders and recently started feeling funny in my right hip. I told the shoe-expert-man about my troubles with the Adrenalines and he decided to re-test my feet/gait/etc. Normally they would just give me another pair of Adrenalines (if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it), but since I was having issues we started from scratch.

The shoe-expert-man had me walk and jog around the store and looked at my feet very carefully (I would so NOT want his job). He told me that he didn’t see ANY pronation at all…that my feet were straight as an arrow. Seriously, WHOWHATWHYHOW?! The Adrenalines are a support shoe…meaning they help correct issues in pronation and generally provide a lot of corrective support (at least that’s what I understand). Shoe-expert-man said that it is possible for feet to correct themselves, and he thought that’s what happened to me. I no longer need the support of the Adrenaline!

I tried on a bunch of different options but the Adidas Supernova Glide 4 just felt the best. They are light and airy (at least compared to the other shoes I tried) and the bright blue color is icing on the cake. So far I’ve clocked about 25 miles in them and they’re holding up nicely. I think I still have some breaking in to do, but I am confident that they’ll take me to a sub2 on March 18th. I seriously never thought I’d switch from Brooks, but when it feels right you just have to go with it!

Posted on March 7, 2012, in Shoes. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

