Semi Oat Fail

I’m back with an Oats report.

The crock pot oats I made last night were absolutely delicious. However, I ended up with a super burnt crock pot and a giant crack in the ceramic bowl. Waaahhhh.

I sprayed the pot with cooking oil like the recipe recommends, but my batch still ended up burnt around the edges. Like, I-need-a-chisel kind of burnt.

Bad crust!

It looks like the crock pot was much hotter on the left side. I’m not sure why that happened? Next time I plan to cook it for only 5-6 hours, instead of 7. I also think I sprayed the pot WAY too far in advance. I go to bed early (like 9) and asked Brian to just plop all the ingredients into the bowl and turn it on. I sprayed it around 8:30 and he didn’t add the ingredients until 12. Maybe the spray evaporated?

Despite the ugly looking turnout, these oats were TASTY. Very creamy, not too sweet, and definitely filling.

Get in my BELLY.

Next time I’ll probably add some blueberries and nuts. I also doubled up the flax ingredient since I have convenient little flax packets.

I let the crock pot cool for about 30 minutes before attempting to rinse it out. Maybe the pot was still too hot, but the ceramic insert ended up cracked. BOO! Brian is planning to make a huge batch of pulled pork tomorrow, so this was particularly bad timing. Thank goodness for BB&B giftcards, because I already snagged a new one! Can’t let that pork butt go bad..

The best part of this recipe is that it makes a TON of oats. I’m guessing it’ll need me for about 4 breakfasts. Oh and the house smelled divine all morning.

The original recipe can be found here (great blog!).

Posted on February 14, 2012, in Food. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

