Running Remix

This week I attempted to mix up my runs a bit. I REALLY want to run a sub-2 hour half in March, so speedwork and hills are on the agenda. Look at me…I sound like I know what I’m talking about. Ha.

Anyhizzle. Since I am the WORST morning person ever, I must reserve my runs for the evening. And thanks to mother nature/daylight savings, it’s usually dark by the time I want to run. So I take my booty to the gym most days. While the treadmill isn’t idea for speed and hills, I feel like I’m getting the job done. At a very minimum, I’m not running flat or steady, so it’s more than I did during past half marathon trainings.

Tuesday I planned my day around my run (an easy 4 miler). I saw that the weather was supposed to be ridiculously beautiful (sunny and highs of 65) so I told my boss I was going into work an hour early so I could leave an hour early. It was glorious to walk out at 4pm and see the sun still shining.

Look! A (blurry) tank top in January!

I whacked 4 miles out and it was SO NICE. And I was SO FAST. Nothin’ like a little sunshine and endorphins to make a girl happy as a clam.

Wednesday I jumped on the treadmill and attempted some speedwork. Thankfully I have a husband who used to run D1 track/cross country, so he told me what to do. I warmed up for 1 mile then ran .25 (400m) at a “fast” pace for me (8:20) then .15 at an “easy” pace for me (10:00). I repeated this process until I had finished 8 of the fast bits. This is called an 8×400 apparently. I covered 4 miles, including the warm up.

Thursday I went to BodyPump (the new release is killer…I especially love the shoulder track. The music is so weird) and then attempted a hill workout on the treadmill. I did a 5 minute easy warm up then set my pace at a steady 9:20 and upped the elevation every 2 minutes. After two minutes I’d take it back down to flat and run at the same speed for 2 minutes. Then I’d up the elevation for two minutes and repeat. I did this until I was done with 3 miles. I increased the elevation every other 2 minutes(that’s confusing, I know), so I ran at a 3.0 then a 3.5 then 4.0, etc all the way through 5.0.

All in all, an excellent running week! I’ve got 8 on the docket for the weekend…BRING IT.

 

Posted on January 27, 2012, in Run Carrie Run. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

