Soup’s On!

For the past few weeks I’ve been wanting to try out a crock pot soup. It seems easy enough…throw some veggies, quinoa, and veggie broth into the pot and let it simmer for 6 hours.

I finally tried last night. The results were kind of blah, but it looked oh so pretty.

Here’s my recipe:

Throw into a crock pot…

  • 1 box of veggie broth
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • Frozen broccoli (as much or as little as you want)
  • Frozen tri-colored peppers (as much or as little as you want)
  • 1 can of black beans (drained and rinsed)
  • 1 sweet potato (cubed)
  • salt and pepper
  • hot pepper flakes

Then cook on low for 6-ish hours. I ended up adding in the broth over time, as it seemed the quinoa was sucking up all the liquid. I ended up just using the whole box of broth plus a little water to make it more soupy.

BEFORE. So pretty.

I kept tasting the concoction along the way, and it just didn’t have much flavor. I thought the broth would make it tasty and flavorful, but it pretty much tasted like bland veggies.

AFTER. Looks like soup.

Next time I might add a bouillon cube or two, or at least figure out how to make it taste a little more like SOMETHING. I also ended up cooking some corn muffins but totally forgot to line the muffin pan. I used a silicon pan but they still stuck. We ended up just eating the tops of the muffins. Cooking fail #2.

This soup may taste like nothing but I think it’s got some potential. And now I have 3 giant Tupperwares full of the stuff…

Brian thinks I should try out for the show, “Worst Cooks in America”. I think I have a good shot!!

Posted on January 23, 2012, in Food, Things Old People Do. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

