My BFF, Bryan (Park)

One of my favorite places to run in Richmond is Bryan Park. The back entrance is about a mile from our house, so it’s easy to get there from our front door. There are basically two loops in the park – a large and a small – and by combining these loops with the run to and from the park, I can squeeze in any number of miles.

A run to and from the park with one big loop is 4 miles. A run to and from the park with one big loop and one small loop is 5 miles.

Yesterday I had 6 miles on the docket so I ran to and from the park with two big loops and one small loop.

The park is relatively flat, but does have some nice rolling hills – a rarity in flat RVA. It’s totally paved, quiet but with just enough dog walkers/runners/bikers to feel safe, and well maintained. There are large fields often filled with soccer teams or bootcampers, as well as water fountains and picnic shelters. Living so close to the park has definitely made me realize that from here on out, we must ALWAYS live within walking/running distance from a park!

Hearts.

 

Hello pond.

This run was COLD. It was about 34ish degrees when I left the house and I definitely had to bundle up. I felt fine about 1.5 miles in, and probably could have done without the puffy warm vest. The sun was shining brightly, so as long as I was out of the shade it wasn’t too terribly cold.

Scowling and running and freezing and taking pictures. Difficult in combination.

Overall, this was a good run for me. I wasn’t that tired or sore or huffing and puffing at the end. I also managed to keep my splits relatively even. I’ve never been this consistent for so many miles. And I LOVE when my last mile is my fastest.

9:15 is apparently my sweet spot.

Now I’m off to do a little more spring winter cleaning and attempt to meal plan for the week.

Bye bye!

Posted on January 16, 2012, in Run Carrie Run. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

