A Tale of Two Halves

…also known as a whole?

Not so much.

Anyway…I thought it would be fun to compare my performances at both the 2010 and 2011 McDonald’s Half Marathon. The 2010 race was my VERY first half, and my very first time running anything over about 11 miles. My goal, simply, was to finish.

Loving every painful step.

I ended up crossing the finish line in 2:18:06 and was very happy. I came, I trained, I finished.

And then the running bug really hit me. I decided to declare my New Year’s Eve resolution to be “running 10 races in 2011”. And I FINALLY understood what it meant to actually train for something. Oh, and that training works. Duh.

Thus began my quest for speed (and by “speed” I mean anything faster than a 10:00/10:30 pace…you gotta start somewhere).

After completing the Williamsburg Half in 2:11:03, I decided to try the McDonald’s Half again, just for kicks. I opted to participate in the Training Team again to hold myself accountable to some sort of schedule and plan. Since I’m still a newbie to this whole “plan-and-train” thing, this was a good idea. And cramming 10 races into 1 year was decently tough for me (not to mention expensive) considering I work lots of weekends, so adding another race was a necessity.

When all was said and done, I SMOKED McDonald’s this time around (and yes, that sentence sounds weird and wrong). A 2:05ish finish felt pretty damn good (but now I want a sub-2…)

Thanks for the muscles BodyPump.

Now let’s compare the stats. Same race, same course, same training, BETTER RUNNER.

2011 on the left, 2010 on the right.

I wasn’t sure I could pull this kind of pace on race day, considering I didn’t stick to my training plan nearly as much as I’d hoped. I certainly didn’t think I’d manage sub-9:00s in the later miles! But I think adding in strength training – in the form of BodyPump – really made me stronger, and faster.

I feel like I’m THIS CLOSE to a sub 2 hour…and in 2012 it shall be mine (And I’ve got a spanking new training plan to prove it, so stay tuned)!

Posted on December 13, 2011, in Races, Run Carrie Run and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

