8 M-eye-ler

Yes that says 8 miler…

Allow me to explain.

I woke up this morning with one goal in mind: run 8 miles NO MATTER WHAT. I am fortunate enough to work from home on Mondays, so I knew I could get this run in at anytime today. I worked allllll weekend and get to “recover” when I work long hours, so I didn’t feel guilty taking some time away from work to get this done. I was supposed to tackle these 8 miles Saturday morning, but, of course, I was working. Anyways…

I got up early and got sucked into work almost immediately (but in my pjs, so I can’t really complain). I worked through about 12:30 and reached a natural stopping point. It was now or never.

I suited up, filled up my hydration belt and hit the road. It was rather hot today (83ish?) but not TOO crazy. I coasted through the first 3 miles with no emphasis on pace. I just wanted to get the miles in.

Then out of no where my eye started to freak out. I’m pretty sure a bug flew into it. It was super annoying and I couldn’t get it to go away. I tried to run it out (ummm not sure what I was thinking with that one?!) but ended up having to stop around mile 3.75. Thankfully I had my trusty iPhone along for the ride and attempted to take photos of my eye so I could see what was going on.

Super ewwww.

I managed to get whatever it was out and continued on my way. Around mile 5 I started to feel fatigued. I only did ONE 3 miler on the treadmill last week, so I think my body was a little shocked with the distance. I kept telling myself to just DO IT. What’s another 3 miles?!

I had some extra motivation actually…a family friend passed away yesterday. She fought a LONG battle with cancer and died yesterday. She was young – maybe only a few years older than me. My brother and her brother were college roommates and their family attended the same church as we did growing up. I was feeling sad about the whole thing today and on my run I thought, “RUN BECAUSE YOU CAN CARRIE.”

I am thankful that my body is well enough to take me ANY sort of distance. I need to take advantage of my good health – you never know what the future may bring. I am LUCKY to be able to run, even if it isn’t always easy for me. Really, pain, difficulty and suffering are extremely relative. No amount of discomfort I can feel while running can even come close to what our friend had to go through – or can even come close to what her family is feeling now.

The last 3 miles of my run were challenging, but I kept a positive attitude and finished with a smile.

Run because you can!!

Ok so my smile looks a little forced, but my legs were feeling it!

I’m proud of my stats…

And EVEN BETTER?! Thanks to my Garmin, I can compare this year’s 8 miler to last year’s (I’m training for the same race again). I even did them on the same day – September 26th. I’m getting faster!

A whole minute per mile faster!

 

I am thankful I can run. I am happy I can run. I won’t stop running!

 

Posted on September 26, 2011, in HMT 2011, Run Carrie Run. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

