Time to Get Down to Business

I’ve been MAJORLY slacking in my half marathon training.

The race is 7 weeks away, so I don’t feel too panicked, but I know I need to pick up some slack. Work is particularly crazy – I worked 14 hours yesterday and anticipate all of October to be the same – so I’m burning out a bit.

But I’ve vowed to not let my stress/pressure/exhaustion get in the way of my work outs. I feel GREAT after I finish a work out. Why do I have such a hard time motivating myself to do them?!

Last week I managed a 3 miler on the treadmill and a nice 7 miler. I told myself this week would be different. And…not so much. I did a 3 miler on the treadmill on Monday and haven’t done anything since. I’m supposed to get an 8 miler in this weekend according to the training plan, but I’m not sure that’s going to happen.

This week I’m GETTING DOWN TO BUSINESS.

Looking back at my dailymile stats from last year’s half training, I’m a little scared. In September 2010 I ran 62 miles. In September 2011 I’ve completed 32. Yikes.

Time to kick my own butt and put a little more effort into training. BRING IT.

I must remember what it feels like to FINISH!

 

Posted on September 25, 2011, in Run Carrie Run, Running Woes. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

