Hillz

Yesterday I mentioned the hilly I run Bri and I took in PA over the weekend. I don’t do hills. And I don’t really have a choice since Richmond is so darn flat.

 

First, a typical Richmond-area 3 Miler in my neighborhood (elevation profile).

Total gain…11 ft.  I typically do these at about a 9 minute mile.

And now the hilly 5 miler in PA.

Yikes and OUCH. This is probably NOTHING for a lot of people, but as you can see from my typical 3 miler, I’m not used to much incline. A steady rise over 3 miles is super challenging for me. Oh and a hurricane was coming so the air was completely saturated with humidity. Yeah, it sucked, but I’m darn proud of myself for kicking it’s butt. And I totally love the ridiculous downhill between 3 and 4. Talk about rewards.

Total elevation gain…267ft.

Time to start seeking out some hills in this town.

Posted on August 30, 2011, in Run Carrie Run, Running Woes. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

