Morning Runs are the Pits

No really, I suck at running in the morning.

I don’t know what it is, but it needs to change. Pretty much ALL races are in the morning.

Lately I’ve been doing all of my runs in the evening…even hitting the pavement in 95 degree 6:30pm weather. But now that half marathon training has started up again, I’m going to be doing my long runs at 7:15am on Saturdays.

This morning’s long run was only 3 miles, but I felt so crappy that I had to walk just after mile 1. I didn’t start out too fast or anything…I just felt like crud. My ribs started to feel super tight and I was having a hard time breathing. WHAT GIVES?!

My stats:

Still a respectable pace, but I really had to work for it. And it doesn’t even make sense since I was about to maintain an 8:40 pace for 3 miles on Thursday evening AFTER playing 2 hours of volleyball.

I really don’t know what else could have caused my misery other than the fact that I’m simply not used to rolling out of bed and running. The 5k I ran 2 weeks ago was similarly miserable and it had a 7:30am start. Maybe my body needs to eat and process 2 meals before it can comfortably run?!?

Whatever it is, I’m going to have to start getting used to these morning runs or I can kiss a new PR goodbye!

 

Posted on August 13, 2011, in HMT 2011, Run Carrie Run, Running Woes. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

