Imposter? Or Awesome?

As I was paroozing the organic/natural aisles of Kroger yesterday (and spending WAY too much money) I noticed a few “healthy” knock-offs of some of my favorite “bad” products. I’ve since tried three of them and am happy to report my findings. First up, Cinnamon Toast Crunch vs. Mom’s Best Naturals Toasted Cinnamon Squares.

VERSUS

In my opinion, these two cereals taste exactly the same. Of course I wasn’t eating a spoonful of the real stuff followed by a spoonful of the knock off, but I’ll be damned if these things aren’t basically the same thing. So is the “natural” product REALLY that much better for me? I’m no nutritionist, but I can read a label…

The "real" thing...CTC.

 VERSUS

The "knock off"...Mom's Best.

Again, at just a glance these two labels look pretty much the same. In fact, CTC has LESS sugar and fat. So, uhhhh, what’s so great about the natural product?? How about the ingredients…

CTC: Whole Grain Wheat, Sugar, Rice, Flour, Canola and/or Rice Bran Oil, Fructose, Maltodextrin, Dextrose, Salt, Calcium Carbonate, Cinnamon, Soy Lecithin, Trisodium Phosphate, Caramel and Annatto Extract Color, Zinc and Iron (Mineral Nutrients)Vitamin (Niacinamide)Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine Hydrochloride)Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin)Vitamin B1 (Thiamine Minatare)Vitamin A (Palmitate)Natural Flavor, A B Vitamin (Folic Acid)Vitamin B12, Vitamin D

VERSUS

Mom’s Best: Whole Grain Wheat, Evaporated Milled Sugar, Rice Flour, Sunflower Oil, Fructose, Maltodextrin, Dextrose, Salt, Tricalcium Phosphate, Cinnamon, Soy Lecithin, Trisodium Phosphate, Annatto (For Color), Caramel Color, Natural Flavor, Nonfat Milk. Contains Wheat, Milk And Soybean Ingredients.

Again, not much of a difference. Maybe the Sunflower Oil and fewer ingredients in Mom’s??Both are made with Whole Grain Wheat…

Bottom line, I’m not really sure how much better Mom’s really is for me, if at all. I obviously haven’t done a detailed analysis of the two, but as your “average Joe,” I can’t really tell a difference. Bummer!!

Posted on August 1, 2011, in Food. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. YUUUM! Cinnamon toast crunch is my favorite cereal! Thanks for sharing! I’m still trying to get the hang of blogging here and I just love how supportive and creative everyone is! If you have time, could you please check out my blog? http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/ I would love some advice and feedback 🙂

  2. Glad to see another Cinnamon Toast Crunch lover! I think I might be sticking with the real thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

