Back in ACTION

I’d say I’m about 90% better from this lingering sickness. It only took a WEEK. I decided that it was time to suck it up and run, even if I am still coughing more than a lady should. My personal running coach (aka Brian) told me I should do a “long and easy” run today. The last run I completed was a 7 miler 2 Saturdays ago…yikes. I had sort of only planned to do 3-4 miles today, but he seems to know what he’s talking about so I went for it.

I attempted to keep it around 9:45, and ultimately I succeeded. A little too fast on mile 2 and too slow on mile 6, but I’m still learning that whole pacing thing.

I generally felt OK, although my hips and IT band were definitely TIGHT. It was somewhat annoying and definitely shows me that I need to get my butt back to boot camp and yoga. I took a few breaks to stretch out along the way (and cough).

When I got home I was happy to be DONE.

My shirt told me to RUN, so I did.

With just two weeks and 3 days until the half, I know it’s going to be tough to bounce back in time, but I’m still gunning for a new PR.

Happy trails!!!

Posted on May 5, 2011, in Run Carrie Run. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

