Stay home or go in? What’s a girl to do!?

I’ve been sick since Thursday of last week, not counting the sick day I took on Tuesday of that week because of my nausea. Normally I bounce back from sickness quickly – like maybe 1 or 2 days MAX – but this thing is just dragging on and on. I don’t get it.

This week I worked half a day from home on Monday and went into the office at noon on Tuesday and I stayed home today. We have a day of meetings and I knew my constant coughing and nose blowing would not be appreciated. I’m crossing my fingers that this is my FINAL day of rest. I’m SO OVER IT!

Overall I’m feeling better, but I just can’t get rid of this unbelievable cough and the nastiness that is coming up with it. Today will be day 3 of stronger meds, so they better freaking kick in. Can you tell I’m bitter?

The hardest part about being a sick 20 something working girl is having to decide if I should stay home or not. Today is the 5th sick day in 2 weeks that I’ve taken. Honestly, I feel guilty about it. I desperately want to get better, but I know there is a lot on my plate at work and I’m just letting it sit there and fester. I also don’t want to let my coworkers down – they are a FABULOUS bunch and I don’t want them to think I’m half-assing my responsibilities just so I can spend another day on the couch. I woke up this morning with every intention of going in to work, but something inside me told me it’d be a bad idea. I pictured myself completely disrupting our all-staff meeting and then being told to go home anyway. Would that be better or worse than calling in sick first thing in the AM?? Oh the dilemmas we face…

A week of sitting on the couch has also put me in a mental slump. I have no motivation, I’m grubby, I’m cranky, I’m bored, and I just want things to get back to normal. I know these are minimal problems to have compared to so many things in this world, but I just can’t shake this gloomy feeling. I need some fluffy kittens, pretty flowers, and a 9 mile run to make me shine again!

Sick rant over. Onwards and upwards….starting with this happy scene.

Beautiful Norway...I could go for your fresh air today!

Posted on May 4, 2011, in Big Girl Problems, Sick. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Just happened upon your blog!! πŸ™‚ Congrats on getting married this year!! I’m getting married in June!! πŸ™‚ It’s all so exciting isn’t it?!!
    Just wanted to let you know that I added a link to your blog on my “blog friends who are also getting married” list πŸ™‚

    http://zanetaruns.blogspot.com/2011/03/important-days-for-important-people.html

Leave a Reply

