Bad, Bad Cats

Last night, sometime between the 2:30am bird chirps and the 5:30am bird chirps, my lovely cat Mr. Chips decided to take a little jaunt across our downstairs mantel. This is not unusual for Mr. C – the mantel is the one place in the house he can get to and Deuce can’t. It’s like a safe haven. BUT for whatever reason, last night he took his mantel-jaunt just a little too far:

There is nothing more frightening that being woken up in the middle of the night to a large crashing noise and the sound of smashing glass. While I’m sad about the picture and the mess, I’m glad Mr. C is ok. I just wish he’d learn to avoid stationary objects…I mean, he is a cat after all. He’s supposed to be dainty and cautious.

Now our mantel is quite empty.

It was a big picture and leaves quite the void. We have plaster walls (our house was built in 1920), so we really try and avoid nailing anything into them. Instead we use the picture rail and have to hang our pictures from hooks with fishing wire. It’s an annoying process but it keeps the walls nice.

After that wake up call I didn’t sleep well for the rest of the night. I am still sick and can’t seem to shake it. I worked half a day from home today and slept the other half, so hopefully that helps things. The number of tissues I’m blowing through is a bit absurd and I’m ITCHING to get back into running! Crossing my figures for a full recovery tomorrow…

Posted on May 2, 2011, in Catz, House. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

