Be Gone Foul Sickness!

I’m sick. Like can’t move, can’t swallow kind of sick. I puked my brains out on Monday night, took Tuesday off from work, went to work on Wednesday and then woke up this AM with no voice. I tried to man up and get in the shower and move on with my day and I ended up fainting. Scared the crap out of me. I felt it coming on (total tunnel vision and extreme hotness took over my body. And not “hotness” like damn-she’s-finnneeee, I’m talking firey heat) so I crawled out of the shower and onto the floor completely covered in soap. I definitely scared the cats…

Anyways, long story short I called Brian in a panic and he came home and whisked me to the urgent care center. LAME. They think I have tonsillitis and the fainting was thanks to my lack of proper nutrition after the pukefest on Monday night. She saw me for all of 2 minutes, so I have no idea if this is a legit diagnosis. She said, “you’re a small person so if you get up too quickly you could faint”. I’m sorry but that really doesn’t help me at all..

I chugged chocolate milk when I got home and managed to choke down some eggs and tea. I haven’t moved much today and canceled all my meetings and activities through Saturday. It sucks.

This is how I feel about the whole thing:

Go away sickness, we hate you!!!

And yes, that is my cat Mr. Chips. He does actually have legs and is quite a nice fellow. I caught him in an off moment.

Needless to say I haven’t been for a run since my 7 miler on Saturday. I attempted 5 on Monday, but failed miserably at mile 2.6 and got Brian to come pick me up. Apparently my body knew what was in store for it…

The 7 miles on Saturday weren’t too shabby at all. It was an enjoyable run and seemed short after my 15k the weekend before. I love how training works like that. I have a 10 miler scheduled for this weekend, but I’m thinking that’s not gonna happen. Now that I’ve had practically a week off from running, I don’t see 10 miles in the cards for me. I may attempt something on Sunday if I’m up to it, but will just have to work a little harder next weekend. The Williamsburg Half is less than a month away!!

And just as a random thought…ever wonder what you’d look like as a Neanderthal? Well thanks to the Natural History Museum in DC, you can. I visited the museum a few months ago and took this lovely picture. There’s also a free app for iPhones – GREAT party trick.

Evolution would have weeded me out...

Happy Royal Wedding Day (almost!).

Posted on April 28, 2011, in Running Woes, Sick. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Aw, get well soon! Best advice: sleep it off.

Leave a Reply

