Another weekend, another race!

Another race? Don’t mind if I do!

I’m officially registered for the CrossOver Challenge 15k!

With my half marathon just a bit over a month away I’ve scheduled myself to run 9 miles next weekend. So the fact that a 15k is taking place that weekend practically in my own neighborhood makes this race a no-brainer. And it’s a fundraiser race to boot – win win!

I won’t have to worry about hydrating myself, watching for traffic or running alone.  Win win win! Oh and I’ll automatically PR since I’ve never done a 15k. WIN!

In other news, I caved and bought a hydration belt. I ran in it for the first time yesterday and had a pretty terrible time for the first 4 miles of my run. I had it tightened as much as it would go and it was just bouncing like crazy around my waist. I ended up strapping it around my lower hips and it didn’t budge for the last 4 miles of my run, thank goodness. I guess I was just wearing it incorrectly to start?

I ended up doing 8 miles at a 9:35ish pace. My Garmin started acting weird and ultimately died around mile 5.75, so I’m not exactly sure what my real stats would show. All in all I felt great, so I’m hoping the 15k will go smoothly. It was nice having water and Gatorade with me at all times!

Bring it on MONDAY!

Posted on April 10, 2011, in Run Carrie Run. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

