Phillies 5k Recap

Race #3 of 2011 is signed, sealed and delivered!

The morning actually started off ridiculously early – Brian and I didn’t get up to the Philadelphia area until about 1:30am. We had a very important basketball game to watch before we hit the road, so we didn’t leave Richmond until about 9:15. I attempted to sleep a bit in the car, but I just couldn’t get cozy. We arrived at Brian’s parents’ house and immediately went to bed. However we were so cold throughout the night that neither of us slept very well. Brian ended up fetching more blankets at 5am so we wouldn’t freeze to death. Needless to say, when our 7am wake up rolled around we were pretty groggy.

We got to the stadium around 8:00am to pick up our packets. It was a ridiculously cold when we got out of the car. I ended up wearing 3 layers of dri-fit clothing as well as my Under Armour pants, ear warmers and gloves. We picked up our packets and goody bags (complete with cotton tee, a Phillies frisbee, some sponsor doo-dads like a key chain and jar opener, and a mini Poweraide) and jogged them back to the car. Parking was right next to the stadium, so logistically this was a super smooth race. We ended up sitting in the car with the heat on until about 8:45 and then made our way to the starting line. By this point it was a balmy 31 degrees.

Chillaxing in the parking lot...

Yes, that’s a Super Mario Brothers hat. Moving on…

The race wasn’t crowded at all. In fact we both made our way to the front of the start pretty easily. Brian’s speedy it made sense for him to be up there and I just didn’t want to hang out alone. There were TONS of people in Phillies gear, which was awesome. The Phanatic also made an appearance and started the race on his little go-cart thing.

Hi Philly! Thumbs up for being awesome.

As far as the actual race goes, I started off feeling pretty good. My feet were rather numb and I was generally freezing, but I felt alright for the first half mile or so. Then I just started to feel like complete crap. My lungs were burning and my legs felt heavy and tired. It’s been nice and warm down in Richmond so my cold weather runs have been few and far between. This race was a bit of a shocker to my system, not to mention the lack of sleep I had the night before. Boo!

I did manage to blow my previous 5k PR (30:58) out of the water despite the cold. I was hoping to finish in under 26:00, but only managed to pull off a 26:27. I can’t complain because that’s AWESOME for me! I still can’t believe I was able to maintain a sub 9-minute pace, let alone an 8:30! Officially…

  • I was the 448th finisher out of 2,592 finishers
  • I was 65th out of 594 finishers in my age group (20-29)
  • I was 116th out of 1410 female finishers

Brian also had a great race (I think!! Although he doesn’t agree..). He was the 55th finisher overall, 21st out of 415 in his age group, and the 50th male finisher. He finished in 21:07.

At the end of the race we got to GO OUT ON THE FIELD and it was awesome. Brian even got his picture taken at home plate (I didn’t want to wait in the long line) and took about a million pictures and videos. He was in heaven.

Overall we had a great time and definitely plan to run the race again. I’ll cross my fingers for warmer weather though!

On the field! Brian ran with a flag cape.

Big ole crowds on the field waiting for a home plate photo.

PHILLIES.

Posted on March 27, 2011, in Races. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

