6 Miles x2

My 10k Training Team schedule called for 6 miles this Thursday and gosh darnit, I was going to run 6 miles. I have volleyball on Thursdays, and I usually don’t like to run too much before our games, since we play for 2 hours straight. Our games this past Thursday were at 9 and 10pm…LATE!

But after my disappointing run on Tuesday, I knew it was kinda a “now or never” type thing. So I came home from work, plotted out a nice 6 miler from my house, and hit the ground running. My goal was to PACE myself so I wouldn’t burn out after 3ish miles. I really had to work at this, since I was feeling pretty stellar when I started. I had to tell myself over and over again to “reel it in”. It seemed to work since I had pretty consistent pacing per mile, and I had enough energy at the end to make the 6th mile my fastest!

It’s amazing what a little pace focusing can do! I was definitely happy with this run even though it was a bit chilly outside. I am somewhat sick of wearing gloves and earwarmers!!

BRRRRR! Before the VA is for Lover's 14k...twas cold. And I'm sick of it!

I had another 6 miler planned for today…technically Saturday = the day I run with the 10k training team. However, I woke up around 7:30 and was just way too lazy to get out of bed. I turned off my alarm and hit the pillow for a few more hours of glorious slumber. I knew it was supposed to be around 65 this afternoon, and I would MUCH rather run in that than deal with a 35 degree morning. Oh Virginia and your 30-40 degree temperature swings…

Around 3pm I suited up and decided to run my 6 miles in a similar manner as I did my Thursday run – by reeling it in and focusing on pace.

ALAS! It worked 🙂

I was even ever so slightly faster this time around. I’m thinking I can accomplish my goal of a sub 1 hour 10k!

And the weather was BANGIN’…I actually got to wear shorts and a t-shirt. I’m crossing my fingers that the weather stays this way from here on out.

Time for Saturday night, bring on the FUN!

Guilty of Saturday night fun.

Posted on March 5, 2011, in 10k Training Team, Run Carrie Run. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

