Finally, Great Runs!

This last week was particularly good for me in the running department. And the timing was perfect – I really needed some good runs after my craptastic performance at the Polar Plunge 5k.

I work from home on Mondays so I take advantage of the fact that I can run outside at any point during the day (yay daylight!), and then continue to work without the hassles of showering, putting on make up, or driving to and from the gym. I feel so good after a run that it’s easy to be uber productive. Thanks endorphins.

This past Monday called for a 4 mile run. Nothing fancy, just four steady miles.

BAM. I’ll take it. There is just something nice about seeing my pace in the 9s. I followed up this run with a private yoga session (a la Living Social…best website ever) and I felt super great and stretched.

Tuesday was a rest day since I had work meetings until 730pm and Wednesday called for a 35 minute tempo run. Since I hate the treadmill so much I decided to give it a whirl outside. Mentally, this was a great run since I broke it up by time rather than distance. I did 10 minutes “comfortably”, 10 minutes comfortably hard, 5 minutes comfortably, 5 minutes hard, and 5 minutes comfortably.

Improvement! Apparently the time vs. distance thing really works for my brain.

Thursday I had volleyball games for 2 hours…cross training???…and Friday was a rest day in preparation for the VA is for Lover’s 14k Relay. Race recap to come – it was a GREAT ONE!!!

Here’s a sneak peek…

Geez I’m cool.

Posted on February 13, 2011, in 10k Training Team, Run Carrie Run. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

