Tempo Time and Group Runs

According to my 10k training manual a tempo run should go like this:

“A tempo run is a continuous run with a buildup in the middle to a near race pace. Be sure not to run faster than your 10k pace. A tempo run of 30 minutes would begin with a 10 minute warm-up of easy running, then slowly increasing the pace throughout the next 15 minutes, and finally slowing down in the last 5 minutes.”

Considering that I just got my training packet today, and I did my tempo run in Thursday, I’m pretty proud to admit that I must be psychic. I literally did exactly what the manual says, simply by Google-ing tempo and crossing my fingers. I knew I had to start slow, speed up, and slow down and I did the 10, 15, 5 min thing just by pure psychic-ness.

I went from two hours of volleyball directly to the dreadmill to get this run in, so I was pretty beat by the end. Here’s what I did:

Minutes 0-10: 6.0, 10 min/mile

Minutes 10-25: 6.3, 9:31 min/mile

Minutes 25-30: 6.0, 10 min/mile

This morning I woke up to join the 10k training team at a local YMCA. It ended up being GREAT, despite the 30 degree weather. I think I wore 1 too many layers, but at least I’ll know for next time. The training team has walker, novice and intermediate divisions and I put myself in intermediate with about 8 other people. I ended up finishing along with 1 other lady in front of everyone!! I NEVER finish first, so that was pretty awesome. We weren’t super speedy but we pushed through and it felt great. And even better, I had absolutely no IT Band pain. I kept it pretty slow and steady, so I think that helped.

The Polar Plunge 5k is just 1 week away!! I really want to finish in under 30 minutes, so hopefully I can bang out those 3.1 miles like I did mile 4 of today’s run 🙂

Random picture time!

St. Patrick’s Day 2008. I wore PJs (that pink thing) and Brian drank a lot of beer. Good times.

Posted on January 29, 2011, in 10k Training Team, Dreadmill, Run Carrie Run. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

